The 8th IEEE International Conference on
May 16 - 18, 2012
Hangzhou, China

All Submissions: January 20, 2012 Extended to February 1, 2012 (11:59 PM EST)
Notification: March 20, 2012
Camera Ready: April 8, 2012 (11:59 PM EST)


Distributed sensor systems have become a highly active research area due to their potential for providing diverse new capabilities. Such systems allow intelligent dense monitoring of physical environments. The focus of this conference is on distributed computing issues in largescale networked sensor systems (including algorithms, applications, systematic design techniques and tools, and in-network signal and information processing).
Authors are invited to submit original unpublished manuscripts that demonstrate current research on computational aspects of distributed sensor systems. Topics of interest include but are not limited to:

  • Machine-to-Machine
  • Sensors in Smart Grid Systems
  • Green Networks and Systems
  • Computation and programming models
  • Energy models, minimization, awareness
  • Distributed collaborative information processing
  • Detection and tracking
  • Theoretical performance analysis: complexity, correctness, scalability
  • Abstractions for modular design
  • Fault tolerance and security
  • Languages, operating systems
  • Task allocation, reprogramming and reconfiguration
  • Dynamic resource management
  • Scalable, heterogeneous architectures (node and system-level)
  • Middleware interfaces, communication and processing primitives
  • Design, simulation and optimization tools for deployment and operation
  • Design automation and application synthesis techniques
  • Closed-loop control for sensing and actuation
  • Case studies: lessons from real world deployments
  • Network coding and compression

Paper submission process via EDAS.


Steering Committee
  • Jose Rolim, University of Geneva, Switzerland [Steering Committee Chair]
  • Christos Papadimitriou, University of California, Berkeley, USA
  • Deborah Estrin, University of California, Los Angeles, USA
  • Josep Diaz, UPC Barcelona, Spain
  • Kris Pister, University of California, Berkeley, and Dust, Inc., USA
  • Phil Gibbons, Intel Research, Pittsburgh, USA
  • Sajal Das, University of Texas at Arlington, USA
  • Sotiris Nikoletseas, University of Patras and CTI, Greece
  • Viktor Prasanna, University of Southern California, Los Angeles, USA

Signal Processing and Information Theory Track

Baltasar Beferull-Lozano, Universidad de Valencia
Jean-Francois Chamberland, Texas A&M University
Mark Coates, McGill University
Giacomo Como, Lund University
Alex Dimakis, University of Southern California
Sinem Coleri Ergen, Koc University
Gianluigi Ferrari, Univeristy of Parma
Carlo Fischione, KTH Royal Institute of Technology
Michael Gastpar, University of California, Berkeley
Yao-Win Peter Hong, National Tsing Hua University, Taiwan
Angelia Nedic, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Umut Orguner, Linköping University
Alejandro Ribeiro, University of Pennsylvania
Anand Sarwate, University of Chicago
Ali Sayed, University of California, Los Angeles
Anna Scaglione, University of California, Davis
Azadeh Vosoughi, University of Rochester
João Xavier, Instituto Superio Técnico

Algorithms and Performance Analysis Track

Habib M. Ammari, University of Michigan-Dearborn
Sajal Das, University of Texas at Arlington
Alon Efrat, University of Arizona
Sándor Fekete, Braunschweig University of Technology
Stefan Funke, University of Stuttgart
Jie Gao, Stony Brook University
Himanshu Gupta, Stony Brook University
Anxiao Andrew Jiang, Texas A&M University
Xiang-Yang Li, Illinois Institute of Technology
Nikola Milosavljevic, University of Stuttgart
Andrea Richa, Arizona State University
Liam Roditty, Weizmann Institute
Rik Sarkar, TU Berlin
Christian Scheideler, Paderborn University
Jie Wu, Temple University
Yulei Wu, Chinese Academy of Sciences
Yanchao Zhang, Arizona State University

Applications and Systems Track:

Jan Beutel, ETH Zurich
Qing Cao, University of Tennessee
Xiuzhen Cheng, George Washington University
Alfredo Cuzzocrea, ICAR-CNR and University of Calabria
Haibing Guan, Shanghai Jiao Tong University
Xue Guangtao, Shanghai Jiao Tong University
Tian He, University of Minnesota
Polly Huang, National Taiwan University
Bo Li, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology
Mo Li, Nanyang Technological University
Chieh-Jan Mike Liang, Microsoft Research Asia
Zhiyun Lin, Zhejiang University
Fangming Liu, Huazhong University of Science and Technology
Jiangchuan Liu, Simon Fraser University
Kebin Liu, Shanghai Jiao Tong University
Yunhuai Liu, Chinese Academy of Sciences
Bodhi Priyantha, Microsoft Research
Daji Qiao, Iowa State University
Lei Rao, McGill University
Tahiry Razafindralambo, INRIA Lille
Xin Wang, Stony Brook University
Zhi Wang, Zhejiang University
Dong Xuan, Ohio State University
Yong Yang, Philips Research North America
Wensheng Zhang, Iowa State University
Hongzi Zhu, Shanghai Jiao Tong University
Yanmin Zhu, Shanghai Jiao Tong University

IEEE Computer Society Technical Committee on Parallel Processing (TCPP)
IEEE Computer Society Technical Committee on Distributed Processing (TCDP)


Maintained by Hossen Mustafa    back to DCOSS home